Altar Servers

Special Items


Liturgical Seasons

Different liturgical seasons have different tones which are reflected in the Mass:

  • Advent (Waiting for the coming of Christ – the Gloria is not sung)
  • Christmas (Joy – God is with us)
  • Ordinary Time (Spending time learning from Christ and living out the Gospel; this is the majority of the year)
  • Lent (Preparing for Easter through prayer, fasting, and almsgiving – the Gloria is not sung during this season)
  • Easter (50 days of joyfully celebrating Jesus’ Resurrection and remembering/renewing our own baptismal vows)

Holy Days of Obligation

  • January 1 – Mary the Mother of God
  • The Ascension (either the Thursday of the 6th Week of Easter or the 7th Sunday of Easter)
  • August 15 – The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
  • November 1 – All Saints Day
  • December 8 – The Immaculate Conception
  • December 25 – Christmas

Note: Sometimes, at the more solemn feasts incense is used, which requires an extra server whose only job is to take care of the incense.

← Clarifications Words You Will Hear →

Comments are closed.